Tuanis!

That’s a Costa Rican word, said to be from the English “too nice”, and also said to be a coded form of “Buenos”, with every other letter replaced by a different but similar letter.

Costa Rica has various particular words, including also “Tico” (meaning “Costa Rican”), and “Tuanis”, and “Pura Vida” (meaning literally “Pure Life”, but also all sorts of other things because why not).

And did I mention that I went to Costa Rica? :) Kind of a big deal, because I haven’t been outside the US of A since like pre-COVID, and I haven’t ever been to anywhere in Central America before.

I flew down on some recent Thursday, and flew back on the Redeye Sunday night to Monday morning.

It was incredibly fun; Costa Rica is a great country, the land is amazing, and the people are warm and friendly even to a monolingual English-speaking dork. Karima and her family threw me a big sixty-fourth birthday party with helium balloons and a cake and mariachis.

It was amazing.

And now I am back home and back in the quotidian suburban rhythm, and it all feels sort of like a dream.

But a good one!

I also don’t really feel like talking about it in detail (still too rare and precious?), even to my beloved readers, but fortunately Karima has covered it in a few excellent posts on her excellent weblog, with pictures (even pictures of me, eek!), so I will send the curious and interested over there. (It was also noteworthy to be called Dale all weekend because yay!)

Travel: one weekend you’re in Greenport, and before you know it you’re in the mountains of a whole foreign country! :) I highly recommend it.

4 Comments to “Tuanis!”

  1. Tuanis Dale … we loved having you for that whirlwind weekend! You were the perfect guest!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. lucky you! just like that you changed your life. your subjective life will never be the same, will always be just a little richer & more multidimensional & daring!❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🦋🦋🦋🦋🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

Hm?